Cell Phone Violations in New Jersey
Within the past couple of decades, cell phones have become a large part of people’s everyday lives. This has especially increased with the evolution of smartphones. Individuals can often be found using them while walking, talking, and even driving. However, using a cell phone while driving a vehicle is a severe violation of the rules of the road. This same violation is true for the use of any electronic device while a driver is behind the wheel of a vehicle without the assistance of hands-free technology. With the increase in cell phone usage came a drastic change in traffic laws. The state of New Jersey has strict laws for traffic violations. Those found violating the laws regarding cell phone usage in a vehicle may face harsh penalties as a result.
Types of Cell Phone Violations
When a driver uses a cell phone while they are operating a vehicle, they are putting themselves as well as others on the road and pedestrians in great danger. Using a cell phone while driving means that the individual’s eyes are not on the road and they are not paying attention to their surroundings. This can cause dangerous accidents and cause injuries, as well as possible death, to many other people. Some examples of cell phone violations may include:
- Talking on a handheld mobile phone
- Writing, sending, reading, or receiving any data over the phone. This may include text messages, emails, or the use of social media
- Searching through the internet
- Watching or taking any pictures or videos
- Playing games
When an individual is found using a cell phone while driving a vehicle, they may be pulled over by a law enforcement officer. The officer may then issue the driver a ticket, resulting in a certain set of fines. The amount an individual may be required to pay in fines is subject to differ depending on the offense. Consequences for a cell phone violation on the road may include:
- A fine between $200 and $400 for a driver’s first offense
- A fine between $400 and $600 for a driver’s second offense
- A fine between $600 and $800 for a driver’s third or subsequent offense. This offense may also require 3 points on the individual’s driving record.
When a driver receives a cell phone violation for the third time or more, their insurance premiums may be affected. In some extreme cases, the driver may face a license suspension at the discretion of a judge.
Contact our Firm
If you or someone you know is facing a cell phone violation and wishes to speak with an experienced attorney, contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC. today.
The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has over 25 years of experience helping clients through tough times when they need it most. If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, our firm is here to help. It is critical that you pick the right attorney who can protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.