Driving With a Suspended License in New Jersey
New Jersey, like the rest of the country, requires that all drivers have a current and valid license if they wish to operate a motor vehicle. Everyone knows that it is necessary to have a license to drive a car, yet some people still violate these laws. When an individual is caught by law enforcement driving without a license or driving with a license that has been suspended, they will face significant consequences. The law governing New Jersey’s driving regulations is the N.J.S.A. 39:3-40. This law details the following penalties for driving with a suspended license or an otherwise invalid license in New Jersey:
- First offense: a $500 fine, and an additional license suspension not to exceed 6 months
- Second offense: a $750 fine, an additional license suspension not to exceed 6 months, and the potential for imprisonment up to 5 days
- Third and subsequent offense: a $1000 fine, an additional license suspension not to exceed 6 months, and the potential for imprisonment for 10 days
In the event that a driver injures another person while operating a motor vehicle without a valid license, they may face imprisonment between 45 and 180 days.
If you need legal assistance for a traffic violation, contact us today.
The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has over 25 years of experience helping clients through tough times when they need it most. If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, our firm is here to help. It is critical that you pick the right attorney who can protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.