Penalties for Marijuana in New Jersey
In considering the penalties for possession of marijuana, you should know that in New Jersey, they don’t have a system of misdemeanors and felonies. Instead, there are crimes of degree, first degree crimes, second degree crimes, third degree, fourth degree crimes. Distribution of marijuana is a fourth degree crime.
Below that, there’s what’s called a disorderly persons offense, and the possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana falls into this category of being a disorderly persons offense. Strictly speaking, that’s not a crime, but it carries some pretty heavy penalties. If it’s a first offense, there’s a diversionary program in New Jersey. It’s pretty advanced in that it’s possible to obtain for a first offense a conditional discharge for certain first offenders as long as you go through a probationary period and obey everything that the probation department imposes on you. Then in six months or so, you can have the possession charge completely removed from your record.
In the event that you are found to have possession of marijuana with the intent to distribute, you are facing further penalties. Any form of distribution is charged as a crime with a minimum incarceration period of 1.5 years as well as a maximum fine of $150,000, depending on the weight of the marijuana distributed. If you are charged with possession or possession with intent to distribute marijuana, you should contact an experienced marijuana defense attorney with whom you can discuss the facts and circumstances of your case.
Contact the Law Offices of Richard E. Novak today to discuss the facts and circumstances surrounding your New Jersey traffic, intellectual property or business litigation matters.