What to Know About Cell Phone Violations in New Jersey
Distracted driving is the number one cause of car accidents in the United States. Distracted driving most often refers to the use of a cell phone while driving. As a result, cell phone violations are taken very seriously in New Jersey. Read on to learn more about cell phone violations and their penalties.
What is a cell phone violation?
When you think of a cell phone violation, you may think of texting. However, there are numerous other behaviors that constitute a cell phone violation, including:
- Talking on a handheld mobile phone rather than using a handsfree device
- Writing, sending, reading, or receiving any data.
- This can include text messages, emails, or using social media.
- Searching the internet
- Watching or taking any pictures or videos
- Playing games
In fact, even changing a song or using your GPS can result in a cell phone violation in some cases.
What are the penalties for a cell phone violation in New Jersey?
Cell phone violation penalties are tiered. This means that the more times you are pulled over for a cell phone violation, the higher your fine will be. The potential fines you may face for a cell phone violation include:
- First offense- Fine between $200 and $400
- Second offense- Fine between $400 and $600
- Third or subsequent offense- $600 and $800, 3-points to your driving record
- This may also impact your insurance premiums and in some cases, your license can be revoked.
Cell phone penalties can be expensive. As a result, it may be beneficial to fight the ticket. To discuss your options, it is important to reach out to a traffic violations attorney as soon as possible. If you are facing high fines from a cell phone violation and/or a revoked license, our firm is here to help. Reach out today to discuss your case.
Contact our Firm
If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.