Consequences of Driving Under the Influence of Drugs in New Jersey


Consequences of a Drug DWI in New Jersey

One of the most serious violations a driver can commit on the road is driving under the influence. Courts and law enforcement in the state of New Jersey take this charge very seriously and are strict in handling these cases. Many people associate driving under the influence with only alcohol. However, it is considered to be driving under the influence when a driver uses drugs and operates a vehicle as well. This is a Drug DWI offense. Those found driving under the influence of drugs may DWI charges on top of drug charges. Individuals charged with this offense may be subject to certain consequences that have the potential to affect an offender for the rest of their lives.

First Offense

When a driver commits their first Drug DWI offense, they may be required to face a series of penalties. This may include:

  • A fine between $300 and $500
  • A maximum sentence of 30 days of incarceration
  • A suspended driver’s license between 7 and 12 months
  • $1,000 surcharge every year for 3 years
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (and applicable fees)
  • A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock device

Second Offense

If a driver is charged with their second offense, they may be subject to more severe consequences than their first offense. This can include:

  • A fine between $500 and $1000
  • Incarceration for at least 48 hours but no more than 90 days
  • 30 days of community service (60 days if the offense took place in a school zone)
  • A suspended driver’s license for 2 years
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for between 1-3 years after license restoration
  • Other fees and fines

Third Offense

If a driver is charged with a third or subsequent offense within 10 years of their first offense, the consequences may include:

  • A $1000 fine
  • Incarceration for at least 180 days
  • A license suspension for 10 years
  • Various mandatory fines and fees
  • Participation in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device

Contact out Firm

If you have been charged with driving under the influence and wish to speak with an experienced attorney, contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC. today.

The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has over 25 years of experience helping clients through tough times when they need it most. If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, our firm is here to help. It is critical that you pick the right attorney who can protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.