Penalties for Driving Without A License in New Jersey
In New Jersey, along with every other state in the country, individuals need to have a driver’s license issued by their home state in order to legally drive. This seems like a no-brainer but there are still unfortunate situations where people choose to drive without a license anyway. In addition, if a driver chooses to drive even though their license is suspended, they can face serious consequences, as this is also a violation of the law.
Driver’s licenses can be suspended for any number of reasons including failure to pay a ticket, driving while intoxicated, having too many points on their license, etc. An individual who is caught driving on a suspended license will face a fine of $500 as well as an additional license suspension for up to 6 months.
A second offense for driving on a suspended license will result in a $750 fine, an additional license suspension for up to 6 months, and imprisonment for up to 5 days. A third or subsequent offense results in a $1000 fine, an additional license suspension for up to 6 months, and imprisonment for 10 days.
If you need a traffic violations attorney, contact our firm today.
The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has over 25 years of experience helping clients through tough times when they need it most. If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, our firm is here to help. It is critical that you pick the right attorney who can protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.