When you are charged with driving under the influence in New Jersey after you have already been convicted on a previous charge, your consequences will be severe. New Jersey takes driving under the influence very seriously and will do what they can to punish those who violate driving laws. Not only will you face license revocation, you are also going to be subject to numerous fines, potential time in jail, classes, insurance points and the installation of an ignition interlock device.
Here is a breakdown of what you can expect to face upon a second DUI charge.
- Anywhere from 48 hours to 90 days in jail
- 2 years of license suspension
- 30 days of community service
- 12-48 hours of courses at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and a $280 IDRC fee
- 1-3 years of an ignition interlock device after license restoration
- $500-$1000 fine
- $1,000 fine each year for three years
- About $275 in various other fees and surcharges
It is important to know that if your last DUI conviction was ten or more years previously, it will not count as a second offense. The consequences for driving under the influence increase significantly with each subsequent conviction. There are a lot of other potential situations associated with a DUI that can be combined with the consequences you face. For example, if your license was suspended but you chose to drive anyway, you will be subject to an additional two years of license suspension as well as 10-90 days of imprisonment, a $500 fine, and a $250 surcharge each year for the next three years. If you are charged with driving under the influence, you will need strong and dedicated legal representation to assist you in lessening your consequences.
Contact the Law Offices of Richard E. Novak today to discuss the facts and circumstances surrounding your New Jersey traffic, intellectual property or business litigation matters.