Traffic Violations in New Jersey
The state of New Jersey is strict in ensuring their roads are a safe place for all drivers. Because of this, they take traffic violations very seriously. When a driver receives a traffic violation, they can face certain consequences. While any penalty can affect a driving record and insurance premiums, what they are can depend on the violation and its severity. Consequences a driver may face can consist of fines, points on their license, surcharges, and possibly a license suspension. When facing a traffic violation, it can be beneficial to enlist an attorney as they may be able to negotiate the ticket and potentially downgrade it to a lesser offense.
Types of Violations
There are many different types of traffic violations that a driver may fail to abide by. This may include the following:
- Cell phone violations
- Reckless driving
- Failure to yield
- Driving without a license
- Ignoring traffic signs/signals
- Causing an accident that results in injury
The state of New Jersey follows a point system when determining consequences for speeding. Drivers pulled over for speeding may face consequences that can affect their record. When this happens, they may be required to pay a higher insurance premium in addition to fines or state surcharges. The penalties for speeding can vary depending on how fast a driver was going over the speed limit. The New Jersey speeding point system is as follows:
- 2 points for driving 1-14 miles over the speed limit
- 4 points for driving 15-30 miles over the speed limit
- 5 points for driving 30 miles over the speed limit
In New Jersey, reckless driving is defined as a violation performed by a driver that willfully and wantonly disregards the rights and safety of other drivers in a way that endangers people or property. This may include actions such as excessive speeding and driving under the influence. Reckless driving is a serious violation in New Jersey and is treated as such. These tickets may result in hefty fines and a possible license suspension.
Cell Phone Violations
If a driver uses a cell phone while operating a vehicle, they are endangering everyone on the road. When this happens, they can be issued a ticket that is followed by a certain set of consequences. Depending on the offense, a driver may face fines between $200 and $800 in addition to 3 points on their driving record.
Driving Without a License
When a driver commits serious traffic violations, they can have their license taken away. If this happens, it is illegal for them to operate a vehicle at all. It is also illegal for an individual to drive when they have never been issued a license in the first place. Depending on the offense, a driver may be charged with a fine between $500 and $1000 as well as possible jail time.
Contact our Firm
The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has over 25 years of experience helping clients through tough times when they need it most. If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, our firm is here to help. It is critical that you pick the right attorney who can protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.