How Can I be Penalized for Driving Without a License in New Jersey?
All drivers are obligated to follow the rules of the road. First and foremost, they are required to have a government-issued driver’s license. When drivers are issued this, it means they are aware of and tested in the laws they must follow on the road. If a person is not issued a driver’s license, it is illegal for them to operate any type of vehicle. This is because it is extremely unsafe and can cause harm to not only themselves but others on the road as well. In addition to this, drivers who violate the rules of the road can have their license taken away. When this happens, they are also no longer legally allowed to drive. Individuals who choose to get behind the wheel anyway without a valid driver’s license can face certain consequences as a result of their actions. If you have been charged with driving without a license, it is important to retain the services of an experienced New Jersey traffic violation attorney for assistance.
What are the Consequences of Driving With a Suspended License?
Driving without a valid license is very dangerous. It is because of this that violation of this law can result in a harsh traffic ticket. Law enforcement and courts in New Jersey are strict in making sure all drivers on the road are legally allowed to be there. It is because of this that individuals who violate this law can find themselves faced with significant consequences as a result of their actions. As outlined in N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, the following are the penalties for driving with a suspended license in New Jersey:
- $500 fine, additional license suspension not to exceed 6 months for a first offense
- $750 fine, additional license suspension not to exceed 6 months, imprisonment up to 5 days for a second offense
- $1000 fine, additional license suspension not to exceed 6 months, imprisonment for 10 days for a third or subsequent offense
Drivers who are unsafe on the road or do not know how to drive can cause serious accidents as a result of their behavior. It is because of this that it is possible to severely injure another party while operating a motor vehicle unlawfully. When this happens, it can result in separate consequences of its own. If a person without a license injures another party while operating their motor vehicle, they can face jail time from 45 to 180 days. If they cause the death of another party while driving, they can be charged with a crime in the third degree.
Additional charges may also be imposed in the event that a driver is caught without a license and is under the influence, refuses to submit a chemical test, drives without insurance, or is a habitual offender.
Contact our Firm
The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC is an effective intellectual property law firm that services business clients who need guidance through the acquisition of trademark protection. Our firm has over 25 years of experience in the IP community representing clients through all legal matters, including actions against infringing parties. If you need a law firm to skillfully guide you through any trademark legal issue, contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation today.