Bergen County driving without a license ticket attorney
Defending clients against driving without a license tickets
You need to have a current license to drive a car. Driving without a license or a suspended license remains illegal in every state in the country and New Jersey is no exception. Though it is known that this is the law, people continue to drive without a license. When a person is caught by law enforcement illegally operating a vehicle, they may be subject to large fines and potential jail time. When you are charged with this offense, it is important to contact an attorney to discuss your matter. Prosecutors are more hostile towards offenders who willfully and wantonly operate vehicles with the full knowledge of a suspended or revoked license. If you have been charged with driving without a license, you need to contact an effective and skillful attorney to fight the violation. The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has been a legal resource for the state of New Jersey for over 25 years. If you need our help, contact us for a consultation today.
Driving with a suspended license
Though New Jersey works to clarify the term, “driving without a license” is a general term that encompasses a wide range of offenses. Driving with a suspended license is one of the most significant tickets issued in New Jersey. According to the N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, penalties for driving with a suspended license are as followed:
- First offense: $500 fine, additional license suspension not to exceed 6 months
- Second offense: $750 fine, additional license suspension not to exceed 6 months, imprisonment up to 5 days
- Third and subsequent offense: $1000 fine, additional license suspension not to exceed 6 months, imprisonment for 10 days
If you injured a person while driving with a suspended license, you may face imprisonment between 45 and 180 days. If the result was the death of a person, you could be charged with a crime of the third degree. If you are charged with the offense because of a conviction for a DUI, refusal to submit a chemical test, driving without insurance, or you are a habitual offender, you have a very serious matter on your hands. You face overwhelming fines and the possibility of a minimum jail sentence. With so many variables to consider, it would be in your best interests to contact an attorney.
Contact our Bergen County, NJ law firm
The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has over 25 years of experience fighting for clients across the state who face all municipal violations. If you are charged with driving without a license, you face a serious situation that deserves the attention of an effective and seasoned legal professional. Our firm is ready to explore the details of your case and employ the legal means to fight against a conviction. If you need our help, contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation today.