Is Driving Without Insurance Illegal in New Jersey?

Is Driving Without Insurance Illegal in New Jersey?

When you are pulled over by a police officer, they will ask for your driver’s license, vehicle registration, and proof of auto insurance at the beginning of your interaction. If you do not have auto insurance, you may assume you’ll receive a warning before being sent on your way. However, this is far from the truth. In reality, you’ll discover you can face consequences for driving without insurance in New Jersey. As such, you’ll need to connect with a Bergen County, NJ traffic ticket attorney to explore your legal options. The following blog explores these circumstances in further detail.

Why Must Drivers Carry Auto Insurance?

In New Jersey, like almost all other states, drivers must carry minimum auto insurance to lawfully operate a vehicle. This is to ensure that, in the event of a collision, the injured driver can recover compensation through the insurance of the negligent party. For example, if you cause an accident and do not have insurance, you likely would be unable to cover the medical bills and additional damages of the victim. As such, they are left with no economic assistance for your actions. However, by carrying the minimum coverage required by the state, the party can file a claim and recover compensation through your insurance carrier.

In New Jersey, the most basic minimum coverage a driver can have is $10,000 per accident for bodily injuries, $5,000 for property damage per accident, and $15,000 per person, per accident for personal injury protection.

What Penalties Can I Face if Caught Driving Without Insurance?

If you are found driving without insurance, you can face severe consequences for this offense. For a first offense, you can pay a minimum fine of $300 and may lose your license for up to one year.

If caught for a second time operating a vehicle without insurance, you’ll find that you can face potential jail time of up to 14 days. Additionally, the other consequences you can face will increase. As such, you’ll lose your license for two years and pay a fine of up to $5,000.

In many instances, people drive without insurance because they aren’t aware their coverage has lapsed, or they switch to a new plan without realizing there is a gap between their coverage. In other instances, you may be able to prove that you do have insurance, just that you didn’t have the proof in your vehicle. Though you may still face a ticket for failure to provide proof of insurance, it is significantly less intense than the other penalties for driving while uninsured.

When you are in legal trouble for driving without insurance, the Law Offices of Richard E. Novak can help. Our dedicated legal team will examine your circumstances to explore your legal options and help provide you with the best possible advice. Connect with our team today to learn how we can assist you through these matters.