Throughout the country, the laws concerning marijuana use and possession are changing. In New Jersey, the laws are still relatively strict compared with other states such as Colorado, where recreational marijuana has been legalized. If you are found to have 50 grams or less, you will only be charged as a disorderly person which comes with the potential for 6 months of imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000. Of course, the more marijuana you are in possession of, the more severe your penalties will be. For example, if you have more than 50 grams of marijuana, your charge will be increased from disorderly person to crime, you may face up to 1.5 years in prison and your fine may be anywhere up to $25,000.
Once you are found with possession as well as an intent to distribute, you are facing a totally different set of penalties. Depending on the amount of marijuana that you possess with intent to distribute, your prison time can range anywhere from 1.5 years to 20 years. You may face a maximum fine of anywhere from $25,000 to $150,000, also depending on the amount of marijuana you have been found with. In addition, there are further penalties for cultivation of marijuana, hash and concentrates, and other marijuana paraphernalia. These consequences can have detrimental effects on your life and your future.
If you are charged with any type of marijuana possession, distribution or combination of both, you will need an experienced criminal defense attorney in New Jersey to provide you with strong legal representation throughout this time. There may be ways to decrease your severe consequences and possibly lessen fines or jail time. However, New Jersey takes marijuana offenses very seriously to deter people from using it.