Blood Alcohol Content Laws in New Jersey
When you are pulled over for suspicion of driving while intoxicated, you will be required to take a breathalyzer test to determine what your blood alcohol content is. The legal BAC limit in New Jersey is under 0.08 percent. If your breathalyzer test reads 0.08 percent or higher, you will be subject to an arrest for driving under the influence. The higher the blood alcohol content, the higher severity of penalties that you will face. In addition, if you already have a DUI charge on your record, the consequences will increase.
For a first offense DUI in New Jersey with a BAC between 0.08 and 0.10, you are going to face a fine of $250-400, at least 7 months of license suspension, the potential for up to 30 days of time behind bars, a yearly fee of $1,000 for three years and hours of time spent in the intoxicated drivers’ resource center.
Second offense DUI charges are more serious. You will be subject to a fine of $500-1000, anywhere from 2-90 days in jail, license suspension for two years, training at the IDRC, the installation of an ignition interlock device, and more. An ignition interlock device is installed to perform a breathalyzer test every time you get the behind the wheel to drive. If you are found to have alcohol on your breath, you will not be able to start your car.
For each driving under the influence offense you are charged with in New Jersey, the penalties just get worse from here. A third or subsequent offense will grant you a substantial amount of jail time, revocation of driving privileges, installation of an ignition interlock device upon the restoration of your license, as well as a series of hefty fees and fines.
Contact the Law Offices of Richard E. Novak today to discuss the facts and circumstances surrounding your New Jersey traffic, intellectual property or business litigation matters.