Traffic Violations in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

Traffic Violations in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

If you drive, it is likely that you will receive a traffic violation at least once in your life. As a result, it is important to know the most common traffic violations and their consequences. Read on to learn more.

What to know about speeding violations:

It is common to drive over the speed limit. However, this can lead to serious car accidents. As a result, New Jersey takes speeding violations seriously. A speeding ticket can result in high fines as well as points on your license. New Jersey’s point system is as follows:

  • 2 points for driving 1-14 miles over the speed limit
  • 4 points for driving 15-30 miles over the speed limit
  • 5 points for driving 30 miles over the speed limit

It is important to recognize that accumulating a certain number of points can result in losing your license.

What to know about cell phone violations:

Did you know that texting and driving is the most common cause of car accidents? Using your phone, even for something as simple as checking your GPS or changing the song is a distraction and can put yourself and others in danger. As a result, the consequences of this charge can result in penalties ranging from $200 to $800 in addition to 3 points on your driving record.

What to know about reckless driving violations:

In New Jersey, reckless driving is defined as “a violation performed by a driver that willfully and wantonly disregards the rights and safety of other drivers in a way that endangers people or property.” This may refer to extreme speeding, improper lane changes, driving under the influence, and more. The consequences of these actions can carry strong fines. Depending on the situation, you may be subject to license suspension.

What to know about driving-without-a-license violations:

Sometimes, you leave the house without your wallet and accidentally drive without your license. This is very different than driving with a suspended license. If you have lost your license as a result of a previous traffic violation, and you continue driving, you are breaking the law as well as ignoring your court-imposed consequences. This is taken very seriously and can result in a fine between $500 to $1000 and possible jail time.

When it comes to a traffic violation, many people assume they should just pay their fines and move on. However, it can be beneficial to speak with an experienced attorney. Reach out to our firm to discuss your case.

Contact our Firm 

 If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.