Understand Reckless Driving in New Jersey
What is Reckless Driving in New Jersey?
Reckless driving in New Jersey is a serious charge and carries with it some very serious penalties. Although it is considered a traffic violation, it still carries five points if convicted, as well as fines and potential jail time. Reckless driving in New Jersey is defined as willful or wanton disregard for the safety others. As a first offense, a driver may face jail time for up to 60 days and/or a fine between $50.00 and $200.00. A driver’s license may also be suspended if he or she is considered a hazard on the road. This suspension can last anywhere from one day and up to 90 days.
Subsequent Reckless Driving Offenses
If you receive a subsequent reckless driving charge or conviction, the penalties can be much more severe. Subseuqent charges for reckless driving can carry penalties of up to 90 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $500.00. The driver may also have his license suspended if he or she is considered to be a hazard on the road. The suspension for a subsequent charge may last up to 6 months.
Do I Need a Lawyer if I receive a reckless Driving Charge?
Due to the seriousness of a reckless driving charge and the consequences attached to it, it may be a good idea to research legal counsel to help you with your case. Consulting with an attorney may also give you a better understanding of the reckless driving charge and what you may be facing in court. A defense attorney will also be able to advise you of your rights.
If you have questions about your reckless driving charge, contact an experienced attorney today.
Contact the Law Offices of Richard E. Novak today to discuss the facts and circumstances surrounding your New Jersey traffic violations, intellectual property or business litigation matters.