What are New Jersey Traffic Violations?
There are many rules that must be followed when a person gets their driver’s license. In the event that a driver violates these rules, they can receive a traffic violation. This is because these violations can put themselves and others at risk for involvement in a serious accident. The consequences of a traffic violation can vary depending on the circumstance. This can include fines, points on the individual’s driving record, surcharges, and sometimes even the loss of their license. Continue reading to learn more and contact an experienced New Jersey traffic violation attorney if you are facing these situations.
What is a Speeding Violation?
When a driver operates their vehicle over the speed limit, they can receive a speeding violation. This subjects them to the New Jersey point system, which can place points on their driving record. The amount of points is dependent upon how fast they were driving over the limit. The point system is as follows:
- 2 points for driving 1-14 miles over the speed limit
- 4 points for driving 15-30 miles over the speed limit
- 5 points for driving 30 miles over the speed limit
What is a Cell Phone Violation?
It is widely known that it is illegal to use an electronic device while driving. This includes the use of a cell phone. However, there are drivers who continue to do so anyway. This is a distraction from the road, which can endanger themselves and others. This can result in certain fines ranging from $200 to $800 in addition to 3 points on their driving record.
What is Reckless Driving?
The state of New Jersey defines reckless driving as “a violation performed by a driver that willfully and wantonly disregards the rights and safety of other drivers in a way that endangers people or property.” This can include excessive speeding, improper lane changes, driving under the influence, and more. The consequences of these actions can result in hefty fines and a possible license suspension.
Driving Without a License
A person can have their driver’s license taken away as a result of amassing previous violations. This means they are unable to drive, as it is illegal to do so without a license. However, if they choose to do so anyway, it is considered its own offense. Depending on the circumstances, a driver can receive a fine between $500 to $1000 and possible jail time.
Contact our Firm
The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has over 25 years of experience helping clients through tough times when they need it most. If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, our firm is here to help. It is critical that you pick the right attorney who can protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.