The state of New Jersey does not tolerate underage DWI offenses. If you were charged with one, you are likely facing harsh penalties and lifelong burdens, which is why you will need to retain the services of an experienced New Jersey traffic violation attorney to fight for you and your future.
What are the penalties for an underage DWI in New Jersey?
While it is understandable that children are growing and learning and may make mistakes along the way, New Jersey courts take underage DWI charges very seriously. The biggest reason for this is so that the harsh consequences will deter them from participating in the same or similar behavior in the future and while also providing them with the help that they need. Some of these penalties may include the following:
- License suspension: The state of New Jersey has the ability to suspend the underage individual’s driver’s license for 30 to 90 days. In addition to this, a teenager with a probationary license must complete a four-hour corrective driving course without the ability to receive a basic driver’s license for one year. If they have a learner’s permit, the teenager must complete the four-hour class and will face suspension for an additional 90 days. Any additional DWI offenses can result in further license suspensions or revocations.
- Community service: If an individual was charged with an underage DWI, the court will likely order the minor to complete 15 to 30 days of community service.
- Treatment: All DWI offenders are expected to complete the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) program or an approved rehabilitation program that is similar. An evaluation and interview are conducted by the IDRC before referring the driver to an appropriate treatment level. The level of treatment required is based on the driver’s evaluation, their driving record, and their BAC at the time of the violation.
What is the zero-tolerance law?
In New Jersey, there is a zero-tolerance policy for drinking and driving. This means that drivers under the age of 21 are accountable for their actions if they drive while under the influence. Underage drivers who operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) between 0.01% and 0.08% may be charged with an underage DWI. Additionally, if the driver’s BAC was over 0.08%, they can be charged as an adult and face regular DWI penalties.
Contact our Firm
The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has over 25 years of experience helping clients through tough times when they need it most. If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, our firm is here to help. It is critical that you pick the right attorney who can protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.