New Jersey takes traffic violations very seriously, which is why if you were caught driving without a license, you will need an experienced New Jersey traffic violations attorney on your side. At The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC, our firm is dedicated to ensuring that you and your future are protected. Contact us today to get started on your case.
What is a driving without a license charge in New Jersey?
It is important to understand that under New Jersey law, no person can drive a motor vehicle without being in possession of a basic driver’s license or probationary driver’s license that has been issued by the Division of Motor Vehicles. Some of the requirements of obtaining either of the above includes:
- A six-point identification verification
- Performing a vision test;
- Have an ability to understand traffic control devices;
- Demonstrating knowledge of safe driving practices through successful completion of a written test; and
- Revealing that they have the ability to operate a motor vehicle safely through completion of a road test.
If you were charged for driving without a license, there is still hope. Contact our firm today to speak with our experienced traffic violations attorneys today to discuss the specifics of your case and your options.
What can happen if I am caught driving without a license?
There are many offenses that fit under the umbrella of “driving without a license.” If you are caught driving without a license, but you have a valid license that is just not in your possession at the moment you are pulled over, you will face a minimal fine.
However, in the state of New Jersey, the most common ticket issued is driving with a suspended license. According to the N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, penalties for driving with a suspended license are as follows:
- First offense: $500 fine, additional license suspension not to exceed 6 months
- Second offense: $750 fine, additional license suspension not to exceed 6 months, imprisonment up to 5 days
- Third and subsequent offense: $1000 fine, additional license suspension not to exceed 6 months, imprisonment for 10 days
If you have been charged with driving with a suspended license, you will likely face harsh consequences. You will need to retain the services of The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC to obtain a skilled traffic violations attorney on your side.
Contact our Firm
The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has over 25 years of experience helping clients through tough times when they need it most. If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, our firm is here to help. It is critical that you pick the right attorney who can protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.