What are the Penalties of an Underage DUI in New Jersey?
It is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to drink, let alone operate a vehicle while they are intoxicated. It is because of this that the state of New Jersey imposes certain penalties on those who violate this law. These have the potential to impact a person’s life and future, which is why it is crucial to retain the services of an experienced New Jersey traffic violations attorney for assistance during this time.
New Jersey Zero Tolerance Law
The state of New Jersey has a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to drinking and driving. This holds drivers under the age of 21 responsible for their actions if they break this law. In New Jersey, underage drivers who operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) between 0.01% and 0.08% can be charged with an underage DWI. These cases are heard in the municipal court. However, if the driver’s BAC was over 0.08%, they can be charged as an adult and face regular DWI penalties.
Penalties of an Underage DWI
Underage kids have a long and potentially bright future ahead of them. It is because of this that it is important to not drink and drive. Not only can it pose a threat to their life and others, but it can result in serious consequences that can impact them for the rest of their life. An underage DWI charge in New Jersey can result in the following penalties:
- License suspension: The state can suspend the underage individual’s driver’s license for 30 to 90 days. In addition to this, a teenager with a probationary license must complete a four-hour remedial driving course without the ability to receive a basic driver’s license for one year. If they have a learner’s permit, the teenager must complete the four-hour class and will face suspension for an additional 90 days. Subsequent DWI offenses can result in further license suspensions or revocations.
- Community service: After being charged with an underage DWI, the court can order the driver to complete 15 to 30 days of community service.
- Treatment: All DWI offenders are required to complete the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) program or an approved rehabilitation program that is similar. An evaluation and interview are conducted by the IDRC before referring the driver to an appropriate treatment level. This is based on the driver’s evaluation, their driving record, and their BAC at the time of the violation.
Contact our Firm
The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has over 25 years of experience helping clients through tough times when they need it most. If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, our firm is here to help. It is critical that you pick the right attorney who can protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.