What Happens If I’m Caught Driving Without a License After a DUI in New Jersey?

What Happens If I’m Caught Driving Without a License After a DUI in New Jersey?

When charged with a DUI, you’ll lose your license for a set period of time. This can pose a serious inconvenience, as you may need to get to work, school, or run errands. However, if you take the chance and get behind the wheel, you risk much more than a traffic ticket. Keep reading to discover what happens if caught driving without a license following a DUI, and learn how a Bergen County driving without a license ticket attorney can help you through this period.

What Penalties Can I Face for Driving Without a License After a DUI?

If caught driving with a suspended license following a DUI charge, the penalties can be severe. Though DUIs are considered moving violations and not criminal charges in New Jersey, it’s essential to understand that when compounded with an additional offense, this becomes a criminal matter. As such, those discovered operating a vehicle during a period in which their license is suspended will face a felony offense.

Those convicted of this matter will face a mandatory minimum sentence of 180 days in prison and up to 18 months. Similarly, you can expect fines of $10,000 and an extended license suspension. Similarly, you will be ineligible for parole during these 180 days. As such, driving without a license when it has been suspended in relation to a DUI is a serious matter, and as such, you will lose many additional rights when charged with a felony.

If someone is hurt while you’re behind the wheel when you’re not supposed to be following a DUI, you may discover that the charges are even more severe.

If I’m Facing Charges, What Should I Do?

When you’re facing charges for driving with a suspended license, you must enlist the help of an experienced attorney as soon as possible. Until you can speak with your attorney, it is best to remain silent. Unfortunately, many people think they should plead their innocence to the arresting officers, but this is not recommended. When under arrest, anything you say can and will be held against you. Similarly, the police can manipulate your words during a trial to use them against you. Instead, tell the officers you wish to invoke the right to remain silent and ask for an attorney.

If you’re facing criminal charges, you should never try to navigate the situation without an experienced attorney on your side. At the Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, our dedicated legal team will work tirelessly to fight for you to achieve the best possible outcome for the circumstances surrounding your case. Contact us today to learn more about how we can help you.