Can NJ drivers have points removed from their license?
When a driver in New Jersey commits a traffic violation, they may have points added to their license. These points indicate the number of violations a person has committed while driving. The number of points you have on your license can raise your insurance premiums because you are considered a risk for the insurance company and are more likely to get into an accident. Additionally, if you acquire 12 or more points on your drivers’ license in New Jersey, you may be subject to a license suspension. However, in New Jersey, you may be eligible for one of the state’s remedial driver programs that can allow some points to be removed and reinstate your driving privileges.
The Driver Improvement Program is for those drivers who have accumulated 12 to 14 points on their driver’s license in more than two years. This program can be taken in lieu of a 30-day driving privilege suspension. Upon completion of the program, you may be able to have up to 3 points removed from your license. If you fail to complete the program, you will be subject to a license suspension.
The Probationary Driver Program is for new drivers who have received 4 or more points on their license. This program puts drivers on a probationary period for two years. If the program is completed successfully, drivers have the opportunity to have up to three points on your license.
If you have questions regarding your eligibility for these programs, contact an experienced traffic violations attorney today.
Our firm has over 25 years of experience helping clients through tough times. If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, our firm is here to help. It is critical that you pick the right attorney who can protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.