When you are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol, you are facing serious consequences. Those consequences increase when you have multiple driving under the influence convictions on their record. What the state of New Jersey looks for when determining your conviction after they have reasonable cause that you were driving while intoxicated is whether you have had a previous DUI offense within a ten year period.
If this is your second offense DUI within 10 years, you will lose your driver’s license for two years. In addition, you may have to spend 48 hours-90 days in prison and do 30 days of community service. You will face multiple fines, fees, and surcharges including a $1,000 surcharge each year for three years, a fine of $500-$1,000, a $280 fee to the Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center, among hundreds of dollars worth of other fees. You will also have to put 12-48 hours in at the Intoxicated Driver’s Resouce Center.
For those who have been charged with a third DUI offense within 10 years of their second offense, they will face even further penalties. If you find yourself in this situation, you can expect to face a license suspension for 10 years, a $1,000 fine, a $1,500 surcharge each year for three years, and the other fines, fees, and surcharges that you were subject to in your previous offense. This time, you will face 180 days in prison. Your prison sentence can be lessened if you complete up to 90 days of community service.
Both of these offenses will require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for 1-3 years during the time in which your license is suspended and following your license restoration.
If you have been convicted of multiple charges of driving under the influence in New Jersey, you will require the services of an experienced DUI attorney.
Contact the Law Offices of Richard E. Novak today to discuss the facts and circumstances surrounding your New Jersey traffic violations, intellectual property or business litigation matters.