What happens if I am underage and get a DUI charge?
The legal age in the United States to purchase and consume alcohol is 21. However, it seems as though people under the age of 21 still find ways to access alcohol. Though it is unfortunate, many minors have unlawful access to alcohol but have reached the age in which they are able to legally drive a car. This lends itself to the unfortunate issue of underage driving under the influence charges. Those who choose to drink and drive under the age of 21 are facing serious repercussions.
If you are charged with an underage DUI, you can expect to have your driver’s license suspended for at least 30 days, possibly up to 90 days. There are a number of other penalties associated with an underage DUI, including anywhere between 15 and 30 days of mandatory community service. You will also be required to participate in course regarding alcohol education and highway safety at one of New Jersey’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. In the event that you have received a DUI under the age of 17 and you do not yet have your drivers’ license, you will not be able to receive your drivers’ license for an additional 30-90 day period when processing your license.
It is important to note that in New Jersey, underage DUI’s occur when you are operating a motor vehicle under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol content of 0.01-percent or higher, as opposed to the legal limit of 0.08 percent that people 21 and older are subject to. If you have questions about receiving a DUI while you are under the age of 21, you should contact an experienced traffic violations attorney.
Contact the Law Offices of Richard E. Novak today to discuss the facts and circumstances surrounding your New Jersey traffic violations, intellectual property or business litigation matters.