What do I Need to Know About Traffic Violations in New Jersey?


What do I Need to Know About Traffic Violations in New Jersey?

When people get their driver’s license, it is done on the contingency that they will drive safely on the road. Failure to do so can result in dangerous accidents and serious injuries. It is because of this that the state of New Jersey works hard to protect the roads. This includes imposing consequences on those who commit traffic violations. Consequences can include fines, points on the individual’s driving record, surcharges, and sometimes even lose their license. Continue reading to learn more and contact an experienced New Jersey traffic violation attorney if you are facing these situations.

Speeding Violations

Drivers who go over the speed limit can be subject to New Jersey’s point system as a result of speeding violations. This places points on a person’s driving record. The amount of points they receive is dependent upon how fast they were driving over the limit. The system is as follows:

  • 2 points for driving 1-14 miles over the speed limit
  • 4 points for driving 15-30 miles over the speed limit
  • 5 points for driving 30 miles over the speed limit

Cell Phone Violations

Drivers are strictly prohibited from using electronic devices while driving. This includes a cell phone. Doing so distracts the driver and endangers all people on the road. These cases can result in a fine ranging from $200 to $800 as well as 3 points on their driving record. 

Reckless Driving

Reckless driving in New Jersey is defined as “a violation performed by a driver that willfully and wantonly disregards the rights and safety of other drivers in a way that endangers people or property.” This includes excessive speeding, improper lane changes, driving under the influence, and more. These actions can cause the offender to face hefty fines and the possibility of a license suspension. 

Driving Without a License

There are many people who do not have a driver’s license. This may be if they never received one in the first place or had their taken away after committing traffic violations. If these individuals choose to operate a vehicle anyway, without a license, it is considered its own separate traffic violation offense. Depending on the circumstances of the offense, a driver can receive a fine between $500 to $1000 as well as possible jail time.

Contact our Firm

The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has over 25 years of experience helping clients through tough times when they need it most. If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, our firm is here to help. It is critical that you pick the right attorney who can protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.