What is Considered a Traffic Violation in New Jersey?
It is important for roads to be safe for anyone who is driving or is a passenger in a vehicle. It is because of this that the state of New Jersey works hard to ensure this and takes the rules of the road very seriously. When drivers violate these rules, it is known as a traffic violation. It is important to know that traffic violations can result in certain consequences depending on the type of violation a person receives. The different types of violations can include speeding, cell phone violations, reckless driving, failure to yield, driving without a license, ignoring traffic laws, and more.
When charged with a traffic violation, the consequences can consist of certain fines, points on their driving record, surcharges, and a possible license suspension in some cases. These penalties can impact a driving record significantly, which is why it is important to have a proper New Jersey traffic violation attorney on your side for assistance.
When a driver speeds on the road, they may be subject to New Jersey’s point system for speeding violations. This imposes certain points on an individual’s driving record depending on how fast they were driving over the speed limit. The New Jersey point system is as follows:
- 2 points for driving 1-14 miles over the speed limit
- 4 points for driving 15-30 miles over the speed limit
- 5 points for driving 30 miles over the speed limit
Cell Phone Violations
It is illegal in any state for a driver to use an electronic device behind the wheel of their car. This includes a cell phone. Doing so not only violates the rules of the road, but it endangers all people on it. When this happens, it can result in a ticket being issued to the driver that leads to certain consequences. This can range anywhere from a $200 to $800 fine as well as 3 points on their driving record.
The state of New Jersey defines reckless driving as a violation performed by a driver that willfully and wantonly disregards the rights and safety of other drivers in a way that endangers people or property. This can include actions such as excessive speeding, improper lane changes, driving under the influence, and more. These actions can result in significant fines and possible license suspension.
Driving Without a License
There are many people who do not have a driver’s license. There are other circumstances in which a person’s license is taken away from them after committing a traffic violation. When these individuals choose to drive anyway regardless of their lack of a license, it is a traffic violation. Depending on the offense, the driver can be charged with a fine ranging from $500 to $1000 and possible jail time.
Contact our Firm
The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has over 25 years of experience helping clients through tough times when they need it most. If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, our firm is here to help. It is critical that you pick the right attorney who can protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.