What to Know About Traffic Violations in New Jersey

The state of New Jersey takes rules of the road very seriously. If you were charged for violating any of these laws, you will need to reach out to a skilled Bergen County, NJ traffic ticket attorney.

Speeding Violations

Driving above the speed limit in New Jersey can result in a number of different violations and penalties. Additionally, a speeding ticket can subject you to the New Jersey point system, which essentially places points on your driving record. The amount of points is dependent upon how fast you were driving over the limit. The point system is as follows:

  • 2 points for driving 1-14 miles over the speed limit
  • 4 points for driving 15-30 miles over the speed limit
  • 5 points for driving 30 miles over the speed limit

It is important to recognize that accumulating a certain number of points can result in losing your license.

Cell Phone Violations

It is widely understood that it is unlawful to utilize an electronic device while driving. Quite obviously, this violation includes the use of a cell phone. Using your phone, even for something as simple as checking your GPS is a distraction from the road, which can put yourself and others in danger. The consequences of this charge can result in penalties ranging from $200 to $800 in addition to 3 points on your driving record.

Reckless Driving

In New Jersey, reckless driving is defined as “a violation performed by a driver that willfully and wantonly disregards the rights and safety of other drivers in a way that endangers people or property.” This can contain extreme speeding, improper lane changes, driving under the influence, and more. The consequences of these actions can result in strong fines and a possible license suspension.

Driving Without a License

If you have obtained previous traffic violations, you may have had your license suspended. In the event that your license has been suspended, you are unable to drive. If you choose to do so regardless, it is acknowledged as its own offense. Depending on the circumstances, a driver can receive a fine between $500 to $1000 and possible jail time.

If you are pulled over for any of the above violations, it is in your best interest to reach out to an experienced traffic violations attorney today to learn more about your options. Reach out to our firm today and speak with one of our skilled Bergen County, NJ traffic ticket attorneys.

Contact our Firm 

The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has over 25 years of experience helping clients through tough times when they need it most. If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, our firm is here to help. It is critical that you pick the right attorney who can protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.