Will You Lose Your Driver’s License After a DUI in New Jersey?
If you face DUI charges, please read on, then contact an experienced Bergen County, NJ DWI attorney to learn if you will lose your driver’s license after a DUI in New Jersey.
Will a DUI cost you your New Jersey driver’s license?
Yes, you can lose your license for a DUI in New Jersey. Of all the penalties that result from a DUI conviction, the loss of your driver’s license has the potential to affect you for the longest period of time. When you are convicted of DWI in New Jersey, your license will automatically be suspended for a period of time.
What happens for first, second, third or subsequent DUI convictions?
As noted above, the penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs will depend on the number of times, if any, you have previously sustained convictions for this offense. A host of penalties come with each one, but for the purposes of this blog, we will focus on how convictions affect your driving privileges in the state of New Jersey. The suspensions are as follows:
- First offense: License suspension of 3 months to 1 year
- Second offense: License suspension of up to 2 years; upon reinstatement, the installation of an ignition interlock device will be required
- Third offense: License suspension of up to 8 years; upon reinstatement, the installation of an ignition interlock device will be required
- Fourth or subsequent offense: License suspension of up to 10 years; upon reinstatement, the installation of an ignition interlock device will be required
Depending on your blood alcohol content and whether or not you were willing to consent to a breath test, you may face significantly harsher penalties. Aggravating factors, such as having a minor passenger or driving in a school zone, will also contribute to your penalties. As such, it is in your best interests to engage the services of a seasoned legal representative to defend you in court.
How can a New Jersey traffic violation attorney prevent you from losing your driver’s license?
We would be remiss if we did not inform you that under New Jersey law, DUI convictions can never be expunged, and permanently remain a part of public record. Reaching out to a skilled Bergen County, NJ traffic violation attorney to discuss your next steps can make a world of difference. Your rights may have been violated without you being aware of it. A qualified legal professional will question the legitimacy of the police officers’ probable cause and the reliability of their tests. Your charges may be subject to reduction or even dismissal. Let our firm fight for you and your future.
Contact our Firm
The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has over 25 years of experience helping clients through tough times when they need it most. If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, our firm is here to help. It is critical that you pick the right attorney who can protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.