Cell Phone Violation Penalties in New Jersey
Distracted driving is a rampant problem on the roads in our area and throughout the country. Drivers who use their cell phones while operating a motor vehicle are putting their lives and the lives of everyone else around them at risk, just to send a text that can nearly certainly wait a few minutes. When an individual in New Jersey is caught texting and driving by law enforcement, they will face significant penalties. Law enforcement in New Jersey is cracking down on this problem in an effort to make sure drivers abide by laws and make the roads a safer place to be.
Over the years, the penalties for cell phone violations have increased in severity. A driver’s first offense for violating cell phone laws will result in a fine between $200 and $400. If a driver incurs a second offense, they will be subject to a fine between $400 and $600. For a third or subsequent cell phone violation offense, a driver may be subject to a fine between $600 and $800, as well as have three points added to their driving record. Having points added to one’s license can result in a significant increase in insurance premiums. When a driver incurs too many points on their driving record, they may be subject to a license suspension.
If you have been issued a cell phone violation in New Jersey, contact our firm today.
The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has over 25 years of experience helping clients through tough times when they need it most. If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, our firm is here to help. It is critical that you pick the right attorney who can protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.