Many people take driving privileges for granted. As a result, losing your driver’s license can have serious negative outcomes. For example, many individuals drive to work every day. For people who do not have access to public transportation, driving is essential for them to get to where they need to be. For some, losing your license may imply losing your ability to get to work and make money. In circumstances like this, some states offer conditional licenses. If you would like to learn more about whether or not New Jersey offers these licenses, continue reading and give our experienced Bergen County driving without a license ticket attorney a call today.
How is a conditional license defined?
In most cases, if you have been charged with a DWI, you will lose your license for a period of time. In certain states, if you are able to prove that you will face extreme hardship resulting from the loss of your license and privilege to drive, you may be able to obtain a conditional license. An instance of hardship may be that you live far from work and there is no public transportation available. This is a temporary license that will permit you to drive to and from work. However, strict rules apply to this license, and it cannot be used as a substitute for a regular driver’s license.
Does New Jersey offer a conditional license after obtaining a DWI charge?
It is unfortunate that the state of New Jersey does not offer a conditional license for those charged with DWIs.If you are facing DWI charges, it is in your best interest to retain the services of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney.
What if I Drive With a Suspended License?
It is important to keep in mind that driving with a suspended license is a serious crime. If you have lost your license as a result of a DWI, and you continue to drive, you are disregarding court orders and putting yourself and others on the road at risk. This can result in license revocation for up to 2 years, in addition to a possible 90-day jail sentence. Additionally, you will most likely also encounter up to $250 in annual state surcharges for three consecutive years.
If you are facing DWI charges in New Jersey, our firm is here to help you. The faster you reach out to an attorney, the faster you can receive the assistance you need to fight these charges and move on. Give us a call today to protect you and your future.
Contact our Firm
If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.