New Jersey Ignition Interlock Device Requirements
Individuals who get charged with driving while intoxicated in New Jersey will have to face the consequences of their actions for months or even years down the road. Some of the consequences can include a driver’s license suspension, fines, fees, jail time, and even the installation of an ignition interlock device. An ignition interlock device measures an individual’s blood alcohol content each time they get into their car. If the individual has a blood alcohol content that is greater than 0.05 percent, the car will not start in an effort to curb any future acts of driving while intoxicated.
When an individual is court ordered to install this device, they must have it installed at a Motor Vehicle Commission-approved service center. In addition, it has to be serviced at one of these centers at least every 67 days. It also must be set to detect an individual’s blood alcohol content of 0.05 percent or higher. In addition, the device must have a warning label that states anyone who tampers with the device will face penalties.
If you have been charged with a DWI, contact our firm today.
The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC has over 25 years of experience helping clients through tough times when they need it most. If you need assistance with any intellectual property, traffic violations, or business law matters, our firm is here to help. It is critical that you pick the right attorney who can protect your rights. Contact The Law Offices of Richard E. Novak, LLC for a consultation.